Listen Live
HomeNewsOyster River fire department hands out awards

Oyster River fire department hands out awards

OYSTER RIVER, B.C- Members of the Oyster River fire service were recognized for their accomplishments this past weekend.

On Saturday, the department held their annual awards banquet for 2017. The event was aimed at honouring members who had completed their training, and excelled as firefighters.

Awards presented were as follows;

Ian and Nicole Emery got their Firefighter Level 2 certificates.

Martyn Thomas received his Fire Officer 1 certificate, Chris Murray got his Fire Officer 3 certificate, and Bruce Green got his Emergency Management certificate.

- Advertisement -

Above and Beyond certificates were handed out by MLA Ronna Rae Leonard to Chris Murray, Martyn Thomas, Janet Marriott, Karl Neufeld, Nicole Emery, Amanda Voeltz, Jeff Caring, Chris Chambers, Julia Blake, Heidi Fuerste, Roger Horobetz, Neil McCredie, Chris Hounsell, Ross Squire and Ian Emery.

They received the awards for their help in the interior battling the wildfires of 2017.

Len Apedaile also received his Federal Exemplary Services Medal for 20 years of service, with the Provincial Long Service Bar going to Jake Nickel for 35 years of service.

At the end of the awards section, Deputy Chief Chris Murray presented firefighter Tim O’Malley with the Rookie of the Year award, and Fire Chief Bruce Green along with Mrs. Rose Carnie presented firefighters Jeff Caring and Chris Chambers with the Bill Carnie Memorial Firefighter of the Year trophy.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -